Boston will host 2015 NCAA Frozen Four

(Photo/The Arena Network)

(Photo/The Arena Network)

The NCAA announced on Wednesday, Dec. 11 they have awarded the 2015 Division I NCAA Frozen Four to the City of Boston and the TD Garden, the home of the Boston Bruins.

The NCAA semifinals will take place on Thursday, April 9th, while the NCAA Championship Game will be played on Saturday, April 11th.

“This is a great day for hockey in New England,” said Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna. “The region’s hockey fans support the college game week after week, season after season. This will allow them the opportunity to come and enjoy the season’s biggest games and enjoy much of what the TD Garden and the City of Boston have to offer. All of us in Hockey East look forward to delivering a memorable championship for participants and fans alike.”

“We are thrilled with today’s announcement that the TD Garden is to host the NCAA Division I Men’s 2015 Frozen Four,” said Amy Latimer, President of TD Garden. “The TD Garden is an established Hub of Hockey, home of the Boston Bruins, and the annual college hockey Beanpot tournament and Hockey East Championships. Coupled with the region’s love for hockey, Boston is an ideal host for this elite event. Our great partnerships with Hockey East, the Massachusetts Sports Partnership and the backing of the City and the Commonwealth are credited with help- ing us attract these huge national events to Boston.”

This marks the third time the Frozen Four will take place in Boston. The first time came in 1998 when the University of Michigan defeated Boston College in the Championship and the second came in 2004 when the University of Denver topped the University of Maine in the finals.

Usually the NCAA has a host school for each Frozen Four, the 2015 Frozen Four will be hosted by the Hockey East Association as a conference, not a single school.

The 2015 Regional tournaments will take place in Providence, R.I.; Manchester, N.H.; Compton Family Arena at Notre Dame and Scheels Arena at North Dakota.

The NCAA also announced the 2016-18 Frozen Four locations:

2016: Tampa, Fla.
2017: Chicago, Ill. (first time host)
2018: St. Paul, Minn.

Justin Soderberg has covered the UMass Lowell River Hawks and Hockey East for over two years. Soderberg also contributes to Boston Bruins coverage for Inside Hockey. Follow him on twitter: @JMSoderberg